Northern Education Trust

Working to fulfil the potential of young people

Trust Board Membership


Les Walton CBE, Chair
Chris Roberts, Vice Chair
Ian Kershaw, Chief Executive
Baroness Hilary Armstrong, Observer
Tom Grieveson
Paul Callaghan CBE DL
Suzanne Duncan
June Foster OBE
Mark Sanders OBE

The Trust Board also includes representatives from our Academy network; these currently include:

John Copping, Chair of Governors, Stockton-on-Tees Secondary Board
Jo Nolan, Executive Principal, Kirk Balk Academy & Thomas Hepburn Community Academy

Terms of Reference

To view the Terms of Reference for the Trust Board, visit our Corporate Policies & Procedures page.

The Trust Board's responsibilities are:

  • To provide strategic direction for the Trust including the addition of further new Academies.
  • To provide strategic vision and support for School Improvement across the trust.
  • To monitor the effectiveness of the Trusts support arrangements and to ensure that the Academies are satisfied with the support and that they are getting value for money.
  • To appoint and performance manage Academy Principals, Local Governing Boards and Interim Executive Boards.
  • To ensure financial accountability to the Department for Education and within the Academies is secure.

Diary of Meetings

23 June 2017

Previous Meetings

24 March 2017
14 December 2016
7 October 2016

Archived minutes can also be found here.